Pages

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Olympic cacophony and harper's redemptive ploy

Leave the politics where it belongs - in Parliament
Oops, forgot! - Canada's been hijacked by a used car salesman
By Seamus O'Bradaigh
Men in serge suits telling boys and girls on slippy slidey vehicles - and various other accoutrements of winter travel - to own the podium is ludicrous.
Always was and still is today
Boys and girls in form fitting spandex,  lycra, and sharkskin do not like to be told what to do.
Mostly they just go out and do it.
And not like Nike.
More like Alex, and Heil and Josee and all those other athletes who put their lives on hold and their futures on the line for a chance, a spark and a glowing glittering moment to represent their country.
It's laudable and it's right.
Right that we have brave young men and women who crash, tumble, spin off axis for this great nation.
None of this is hyperbole.
Take a look at the fucking scars on the knees and the ankles of those athletes who work for a wage that parlays into about $325 a month.
So Stevie Harper get your quintessentially smarmy mug out of those fucking photo ops for christs's sake,.
You moronic hunk of used car sales and practitioner of the ultimate ponzy scheme.
The Canadian government thinks that because it donated millions to the coffers of winter athletes it also earned the right to demand some bang for their collective buck.
Yeah? Well, bullshit.
Crap! Because it ain't your fucking moolah you piece of bull dung, wiseass pond scummers.
It's our money.
It's Canada's money.
And if we think our Canadian athletes have done a great job, and I for one do, well it's not up to you to demand some kind of medallion recompense for the dollah-dollah bills we poured into athletic programming.
Judas priests. Asking for your 30 pieces of silver.
We need to invest in our youth.
That's not a political mandate it's a human imperative.
So fuck you Harpy Harper, you and your wallowing grubbery, and minced metaphors and camera angled shots with the great one and the other great ones who make up this panoply of Canadian sports.
We now know why you engineered a stoppage of parliament.
And don't call it a prorogue you mealy mouthed piece of dipped shit and hardwired mediocrity..
It's not a prorogue, it's a cessation of the democratic process.
It's a fucking hijack.
A hijack for a few well-placed photo-ops.
You fucking pirate.
You inveterate shrugged piece of peameal bacon.
You endured some down time in the polls and relied on Canada's lack of long term memory to engineer a rise back up in the polls and it seems to have worked.
You can thank the electorates capacity for stupidity for that resurgence in the polls.
You gave us  a crooked smile, and an equally bent agenda.
And in the new budget I'm betting that Canadian athletes will once again be low on the podium.
And you know what?
That's okay.
Because I personally believe in the Canuck capacity to endure in spite of bureaucratic agendas.
We don't need to own the podium, but we certainly need to invest in athletics.
Obesity, type two diabetes are the hallmarks of an increasingly moribund youth.
Our youth need inspiration.
And they won't get that from a used car salesman turned PM or a bunch of has-been athletes turned bureaucratic mechano men with a vision to own a fucking podium.
Our youth will get that from Alex and Tessa, and of course Josee.
And they would have gone out and wrenched tears from inertia with or without that $325 per month.
I dare you to take credit for this gold medal mark harper you whinged and whiny epithet.
Go ahead give it a try.
No more photo ops.
No more hugging.
No more smiles and salutes as the flag is raised.
Now Steveie we have you back where we want you you slug.
Back in parliament.
Back to answer a few questions.
Like why you pay homage to gutsy performances.
But don't have the guts to perform in your own arena for three months.
It's medal time Stevie.
Put on your fucking flak jacket.
Cos'the bombs are comin'.
You fucking ferret.